Quantcast New UI Issue... Background Image... - LoTROInterface
VGInterface.com
Search Downloads


Go Back   LoTROInterface > LotRO > Developer Discussions > XML modification help (L)

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 06-22-2007, 04:17 PM
AncientWolf's Avatar
AncientWolf AncientWolf is offline
Premium Member
Premium Member
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 73
New UI Issue... Background Image...

Anyone else had difficulty getting a background image to dispaly in the new method?

I'd assume: (Like normal)

Code:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<opt>
<SkinName Name="Fenir_Wood_Test"></SkinName>

<!-- Bottom Bar Development -->

<Mapping ArtAssetID="LetterBoxBottom" FileName="invisible.tga"></Mapping>

****Snip****

Does this (in red) have bearing on the size?

<PanelFile ID="toolbar">
<Element ID="ToolbarField" X="100" Y="400" Width="450" Height="145" Detach="1">
<Element ID="ToolbarFieldMain" X="0" Y="0" Width="1" Height="1"></Element>

Ive tried say making a 450 X 145 tga image and cant ge tit to show up...
(replacing invisible.tga with say myletterbox.tga)

Eh?

On a side note, positioning the exp bar woes are all gone...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 06-22-2007, 05:12 PM
Brode's Avatar
Brode Brode is offline
The Undying
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by AncientWolf
Anyone else had difficulty getting a background image to dispaly in the new method?

I'd assume: (Like normal)

Code:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<opt>
<SkinName Name="Fenir_Wood_Test"></SkinName>

<!-- Bottom Bar Development -->

<Mapping ArtAssetID="LetterBoxBottom" FileName="invisible.tga"></Mapping>

****Snip****

Does this (in red) have bearing on the size?

<PanelFile ID="toolbar">
<Element ID="ToolbarField" X="100" Y="400" Width="450" Height="145" Detach="1">
<Element ID="ToolbarFieldMain" X="0" Y="0" Width="1" Height="1"></Element>

Ive tried say making a 450 X 145 tga image and cant ge tit to show up...
(replacing invisible.tga with say myletterbox.tga)

Eh?

On a side note, positioning the exp bar woes are all gone...
Yep
<Mapping ArtAssetID="LetterBoxBottom" FileName="invisible.tga"></Mapping> to
<Mapping ArtAssetID="LetterBoxBottom" FileName="myletterbox.tga"></Mapping>

<Element ID="ToolbarFieldMain" X="0" Y="0" Width="450" Height="145"></Element>

Last edited by Brode : 06-22-2007 at 05:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 06-22-2007, 05:33 PM
D.H1cks's Avatar
D.H1cks D.H1cks is offline
The Undying
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 162
Setting any element to have a width and height of 1 makes it invisible.

From the readme with Frosty's Toolbar:

Quote:
In the example above, the "ToolbarFieldMain" has a width and a height
of 1, which is how the background of the toolbar is erased.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread 06-23-2007, 12:11 AM
AncientWolf's Avatar
AncientWolf AncientWolf is offline
Premium Member
Premium Member
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 73
I figured the real problem out; I had the letterbox defined twice. (mine and invisible) -my bad

I did note however, after logging in and out many, many, many times, it seems like the server forgets what UI I'm using; might be a client thing too.

A reboot usually fixes it or waiting a few minutes. /shrug

Either way, I'm good to go.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Unread 06-23-2007, 10:58 AM
LedMirage's Avatar
LedMirage LedMirage is offline
The Indomitable
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by AncientWolf
I figured the real problem out; I had the letterbox defined twice. (mine and invisible) -my bad

I did note however, after logging in and out many, many, many times, it seems like the server forgets what UI I'm using; might be a client thing too.

A reboot usually fixes it or waiting a few minutes. /shrug

Either way, I'm good to go.
Yeah same here, I've even had the game crash on me when I had my bar outside of the screen area partially.

I also found out the hardway that if there is a mistake, ANY mistake even an erroneous element inside quotes ("mistak e") then it will cascade down and everything after such error will be ignored and use the default settings for the panelfile.

I *REALLY* would love to be able to have other values than X and Y for positioning the panel, obviously the game already has them (I doubt they have a setting for each resolution, then again...), some variables like X and Y values for the resolution with some basic math operations and life would be good, we could just position the bar centered on any side and then work on the inside and not have to make so many variations of a theme.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Unread 06-23-2007, 11:11 AM
AncientWolf's Avatar
AncientWolf AncientWolf is offline
Premium Member
Premium Member
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 73
Im finding for now that with the movable bottom bar only a couple variations are needed if things are kept compact. I know this is going to change once we get more elements to mess with.

As for the cascading effect, I know this issue well now, I thusly named the occurrence "The Rodents" (tm)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
letterbox_bottom xp bar issue Aalwein General Authoring Discussion (L) 2 05-15-2007 08:55 AM
A anoying issue aegget Graphics modification help (L) 5 05-10-2007 06:20 AM
tooltip background AssetID? BlokX General Authoring Discussion (L) 4 04-30-2007 01:49 PM
Image Size? Hmmm... Taffu Graphics modification help (L) 11 04-02-2007 07:09 AM
Image scaling question witnezz Graphics modification help (L) 1 02-25-2007 05:54 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27 PM.


Our Network
EQInterface | EQ2Interface | Minion | WoWInterface | VGInterface | LoTROInterface | MMOInterface | Swtorui