lotrointerface.com
Search Downloads

Go Back   LoTROInterface > LotRO > Developer Discussions > General Authoring Discussion (L)

Unread 10-13-2007, 08:12 PM
The Wary

Smile API Hell - What to avoid in LotRO!

Howdy all.

My name is Cidan and I'm a UI author for World of Warcraft. I have recently migrated from that game to this one. I have a few thoughts on what to do when it comes time for an API to be implemented into LotRO and I thought I'd share a few with you all.

Before I get started I'd like to state my particular specialty is abstracting the API already in place in games such as WoW so they are modular and easy to use, and no, I don't mean Ace2. (Though really in a more general sense I abstract with all my projects, rendering engines, etc.) I also DO understand that any and all API functionality is not going to come for a lonnggg time, if ever.

Object Recycling

I think the very first thing that needs to be in place when exposing the API is recycling of assets. I can not stress what a mistake it is to not recycle assets and to leave things up to some garbage collection system. I'm assuming that LotRO will at some point use some sort of managed language, which is fine. However all objects created by this API must be pooled. That is, developers should be able to call a function on the object to sanitize it and the engine will put the object back into a pool for reuse. Next time an object of the same type is created, it will pull from the pool first before creating a new instance. Over time the game should garbage collect what is in these pools.

Signals

If I recall what I read a while ago, Frosty did mention that developers will be able to create their own signals. I applaud this, but make sure they are flexible enough that we can bind multiple calls to a single signal, etc. Other than that, woohoo! One less thing to abstract. :P

Click Casting and Interaction