PDA

View Full Version : New UI Issue... Background Image...


AncientWolf
06-22-2007, 04:17 PM
Anyone else had difficulty getting a background image to dispaly in the new method?

I'd assume: (Like normal)

Code:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<opt>
<SkinName Name="Fenir_Wood_Test"></SkinName>

<!-- Bottom Bar Development -->

<Mapping ArtAssetID="LetterBoxBottom" FileName="invisible.tga"></Mapping>

****Snip****

Does this (in red) have bearing on the size?

<PanelFile ID="toolbar">
<Element ID="ToolbarField" X="100" Y="400" Width="450" Height="145" Detach="1">
<Element ID="ToolbarFieldMain" X="0" Y="0" Width="1" Height="1"></Element>

Ive tried say making a 450 X 145 tga image and cant ge tit to show up...
(replacing invisible.tga with say myletterbox.tga)

Eh?

On a side note, positioning the exp bar woes are all gone... :p

Brode
06-22-2007, 05:12 PM
Anyone else had difficulty getting a background image to dispaly in the new method?

I'd assume: (Like normal)

Code:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<opt>
<SkinName Name="Fenir_Wood_Test"></SkinName>

<!-- Bottom Bar Development -->

<Mapping ArtAssetID="LetterBoxBottom" FileName="invisible.tga"></Mapping>

****Snip****

Does this (in red) have bearing on the size?

<PanelFile ID="toolbar">
<Element ID="ToolbarField" X="100" Y="400" Width="450" Height="145" Detach="1">
<Element ID="ToolbarFieldMain" X="0" Y="0" Width="1" Height="1"></Element>

Ive tried say making a 450 X 145 tga image and cant ge tit to show up...
(replacing invisible.tga with say myletterbox.tga)

Eh?

On a side note, positioning the exp bar woes are all gone... :p

Yep
<Mapping ArtAssetID="LetterBoxBottom" FileName="invisible.tga"></Mapping> to
<Mapping ArtAssetID="LetterBoxBottom" FileName="myletterbox.tga"></Mapping>

<Element ID="ToolbarFieldMain" X="0" Y="0" Width="450" Height="145"></Element>

D.H1cks
06-22-2007, 05:33 PM
Setting any element to have a width and height of 1 makes it invisible.

From the readme with Frosty's Toolbar:

In the example above, the "ToolbarFieldMain" has a width and a height
of 1, which is how the background of the toolbar is erased.

AncientWolf
06-23-2007, 12:11 AM
I figured the real problem out; I had the letterbox defined twice. (mine and invisible) -my bad :o

I did note however, after logging in and out many, many, many times, it seems like the server forgets what UI I'm using; might be a client thing too.

A reboot usually fixes it or waiting a few minutes. /shrug

Either way, I'm good to go.

LedMirage
06-23-2007, 10:58 AM
I figured the real problem out; I had the letterbox defined twice. (mine and invisible) -my bad :o

I did note however, after logging in and out many, many, many times, it seems like the server forgets what UI I'm using; might be a client thing too.

A reboot usually fixes it or waiting a few minutes. /shrug

Either way, I'm good to go.

Yeah same here, I've even had the game crash on me when I had my bar outside of the screen area partially.

I also found out the hardway that if there is a mistake, ANY mistake even an erroneous element inside quotes ("mistak e") then it will cascade down and everything after such error will be ignored and use the default settings for the panelfile.

I *REALLY* would love to be able to have other values than X and Y for positioning the panel, obviously the game already has them (I doubt they have a setting for each resolution, then again...), some variables like X and Y values for the resolution with some basic math operations and life would be good, we could just position the bar centered on any side and then work on the inside and not have to make so many variations of a theme.

AncientWolf
06-23-2007, 11:11 AM
Im finding for now that with the movable bottom bar only a couple variations are needed if things are kept compact. I know this is going to change once we get more elements to mess with.

As for the cascading effect, I know this issue well now, I thusly named the occurrence "The Rodents" (tm) :p