Quantcast Changing channel colors with lua? - LoTROInterface
VGInterface.com
Search Downloads


Go Back   LoTROInterface > LotRO > General Discussion & Support > Interface Help (L)

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 11-19-2013, 04:11 PM
DaBear78 DaBear78 is offline
The Undefeated
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Duisburg, Germany
Posts: 5
Changing channel colors with lua?

Just a short question: Is it possible to change the color of a channel with a plugin? I'm asking because in the german/french client the colors of the chat will be saved in the layout file (/ui layout save), but they won't load (/ui layout load). So my idea is a small plugin where you can save your current settings and transfer them to your other toons (by loading / running the plugin with your alternate toons). Is this possible?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 11-19-2013, 08:22 PM
Garan's Avatar
Garan Garan is online now
The Undying
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 218
short answer: No

longer answer:
We can force text that the plugin sends to be displayed in specific colors overriding the recipient's channels but we can not override the current user's chat window settings. That is, if the plugin has a quickslot that contains data of type Alias then the text will be sent when the user clicks and that text can contain color formatting. What you want to do is set the color of incomming chat messages and is not possible via Lua.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 11-20-2013, 09:39 AM
DaBear78 DaBear78 is offline
The Undefeated
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Duisburg, Germany
Posts: 5
Ok, thx for the quick answer.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread 11-20-2013, 09:54 AM
Garan's Avatar
Garan Garan is online now
The Undying
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 218
You're welcome. I just wish I didn't have to answer 'no' to so many good ideas Unfortunately, it appears as though there have been no updates to Lua with Helms Deep, not even bug fixes, so I'm not sure the devs that were donating their time for Lua development are even still working for Turbine (some of the skin developers still exist but that is a whole different critter).
EDIT: There are Lua changes, just nothing new, improved or fixed. The only changes were the removal of features that related to certain skills and stances.

Last edited by Garan : 11-20-2013 at 04:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Unread 11-21-2013, 09:17 AM
bobbisson bobbisson is offline
The Wary
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garan
EDIT: There are Lua changes, just nothing new, improved or fixed. The only changes were the removal of features that related to certain skills and stances.
Are you referring to the most recent Helm's Deep Lua documentation update?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Unread 11-26-2013, 11:19 AM
Garan's Avatar
Garan Garan is online now
The Undying
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbisson
Are you referring to the most recent Helm's Deep Lua documentation update?
I'm glad the documentation is finally more up to date but the features are not new. Plus there are still features that have existed for years and remain undocumented such as SetStretchMode.

Don't get me wrong, I'm glad that there's more up-to-date documentation for those that need it (Lua actually allows us to examine the API so the docs aren't all that critical) but that doesn't qualify as an update to the actual API. I am curious whether Snowlight is one of the Turbine Devs or a member of the Turbine Community Support Team. It would be nice to know that there are still devs contributing their time and that an actual update to the API is still expected.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Unread 11-26-2013, 02:09 PM
Equendil Equendil is offline
The Undying
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 52
This article about the instance finder: http://www.lotrolife.com/news_full/l...nder-faq/2460/ seems to indicate that "snowlight" is in the 'engineering' team.
__________________
Author of LIP, Bootstrap and Baruk
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Unread 05-22-2014, 03:39 AM
robinthompson robinthompson is offline
The Wary
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1
I thinks yes you can change the color according to but not sure about it..

online slots

Last edited by robinthompson : 05-23-2014 at 01:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Unread 05-22-2014, 07:08 AM
Digpoe Digpoe is offline
The Undefeated
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 7
This snippet of code should work to write a message to the chat in a specified color:

Code:
function WriteTextColor(color, text)
Turbine.Chat.WriteLine(string.format("<rgb=%s>%s</rgb>", color, text))
end

-- Usage:
WriteTextColor("#FFFFFF", "Hello, world!")
-- Make sure to provide the first argument as a hex string representing the color
EDIT: Whoops, didn't notice that you said 'channel' - I was thinking chat in general then. :P
__________________
Some kiddo who knows Lua
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Unread 05-22-2014, 10:37 AM
Stever1388 Stever1388 is offline
The Undying
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garan
You're welcome. I just wish I didn't have to answer 'no' to so many good ideas Unfortunately, it appears as though there have been no updates to Lua with Helms Deep, not even bug fixes, so I'm not sure the devs that were donating their time for Lua development are even still working for Turbine (some of the skin developers still exist but that is a whole different critter).
EDIT: There are Lua changes, just nothing new, improved or fixed. The only changes were the removal of features that related to certain skills and stances.
They actually broke some things as well... the gambit skillinfo used to allow you to get the gambit builder sequence but now it just returns nil (or just an error, can't remember anymore) and if you do gambit:GetGambitCount() which should return the number of gambit builders in the sequence, it always returns 0. I assume these two bugs are related.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LI panel colors Dax85 Interface Requests (L) 1 04-18-2013 04:59 PM
LUA and /OOC or any other channel...how? Fiveskin Lua Programming Help (L) 2 01-19-2011 09:17 AM
Turbine.UI.Window behavior changing in next Lua update Digital_Utopia General Authoring Discussion (L) 7 10-27-2010 12:43 AM
IRC Channel Cairenn Tutorials & Other Helpful Information (L) 0 09-21-2010 07:29 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15 PM.


Our Network
EQInterface | EQ2Interface | Minion | WoWInterface | VGInterface | LoTROInterface | MMOInterface | Swtorui