lotrointerface.com
Search Downloads

Go Back   LoTROInterface > LotRO > General Discussion & Support > Interface Requests (L)

Unread 09-20-2015, 02:36 AM
The Undefeated
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces

I'm new... :)

Hi, ok so I am new to modding LOTRO UIs/skins but am fast finding it addictive. Also there are lots of UI's here I would update if I knew how. I am pretty much devoid of scripting knowledge so where should I start? Although I managed to put together one UI compilation although it was pretty much just copy/paste with a bit of photo editing.
Unread 09-20-2015, 05:50 AM
The Undying

I'm only a dabbler in UI skinning (I don't have the artistic talent for it), but here is my understanding of the process:

1. Get the official U14 skinning pack, which is the latest one that has been released by Turbine.

2. Take the SkinDefinition.xml file and remove all of the lines for images that you do not wish to change. This file should contain only the things you want to change about the UI, not the things you want to keep the same.

3. Edit the .tga files as desired, using Photoshop or GIMP. Remove any .tga files you don't want to modify. Your skin only needs to contain the .tga files that are different from the defaults.

4. To change the size and positioning of things, you need to find the appropriate section in the SkinDictionary.txt file, and copy+paste it into your SkinDefinition.xml file, then modify it as desired.

5. Ask Adra.
Unread 09-20-2015, 12:30 PM
The Undefeated

Thanks a ton this is awesome!