lotrointerface.com
Search Downloads

Go Back   LoTROInterface > LotRO > Developer Discussions > Graphics modification help (L)

Unread 08-23-2008, 09:37 PM
The Wary

Gimp image pasting

So, I'm new to the whole skinning thing but have some general knowledge with simple coding. I'm terrible at images and was wondering if it's possible to simply use a working image and cut the old image off a layer and copy a new image onto the layer as to avoid having to play with alpha channels as after 2 weeks I still can't grasp this concept.

Any help would be great on this.

Great site and forums, you guys and girls definetely sucked me into this thing and I'm determined to figure this out even if my brain explodes
Unread 08-24-2008, 01:38 PM
The Undying
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces

Send a message via MSN to Supermax
Lol, I think at one point all of our brains have exploded... i think it's inevitable.

So let me get this straight, you're wondering if you can:
-Take an existing image and replace the layer without changing the alpha channels to accommodate new shapes/sizes.
-Keep existing properties of the default image just change the picture.

Yes you can, in theory, although I don't know how affective it would be. If you choose to keep all the same shapes, sizes then yes you definitely can. But the existing User Interface is clumsy, and poorly assembled (sorry Turbine.) Alpha channels are actually quite easy once you get the hang of them.

When a selected Alpha Channel is visible, all that is white will be seen in game, and black will not. What I like to do to achieve a simple alpha channel is:

-After I have completed the image, I save as a xxxx.psd (photoshop) as well as a xxxx.tga.
-Keeping the xxxx.psd open, I open the xxxx.tga I just saved.