lotrointerface.com
Search Downloads


Go Back   LoTROInterface > LotRO > Developer Discussions > Lua Programming Help (L)

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 11-08-2010, 05:18 PM
The Old One The Old One is offline
The Undying
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 54
Need help fixing a plugin

I've been using FX bar to track buffs since the f2p beta.

It stopped saving it's position when moved some time ago and I don't know why but I was ok with that as I had already moved it where I wanted it and I could edit the save file to move it but would like it fixed and hopefully so it will work after the coming November patch.

I have tried to find the author but it was only ever posted on the F2P closed Beta forums witch have been purged and can't I find them anywhere using google. The only reference google gave me was an old post in one players blog and that player switch to using buff bars.

To say I'm not good with Lua would be to say King Kong is a big monkey (I just don't get it) so I can't fix it myself.

Can anyone help me fix this or more likely fix it for me?
Attached Files
File Type: zip FX Bar.zip (8.6 KB, 660 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 11-08-2010, 08:17 PM
D.H1cks's Avatar
D.H1cks D.H1cks is offline
The Undying
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 162
I took a look at it, and at first glance, everything seems correct. This is the section of code that should save after a move:

Code:
function FXWindow:MouseUp( arguments )
	if ( arguments.Button ~= Turbine.UI.MouseButton.Left ) then return; end
	if ( self.dragging ) then
		Settings.WindowPosition.Left = self:GetLeft();
		Settings.WindowPosition.Top = self:GetTop();
		Turbine.PluginData.Save( Turbine.DataScope.Character , "FXSettings" , Settings );
	end
	self.dragging = false;
end
Stick in a Turbine.Shell.WriteLine("I saved"); after the actual save line is a good spot to start checking. I will try myself in a while and see what is happening, but have other stuff to attend to.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 11-08-2010, 08:48 PM
The Old One The Old One is offline
The Undying
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 54
I feel stupid for not trying this before but I moved the setting file and tried having it create a new setup file and it saved but moved up the screen when I reloaded the game so it is saving but when it loads it does not load the same place as it was when it saved.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread 11-08-2010, 09:27 PM
D.H1cks's Avatar
D.H1cks D.H1cks is offline
The Undying
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 162
Ya, for me it keeps moving it up a bit. I think it has to do with this section:

Code:
	-- adjust so the label stays fixed on the screen
	self:SetPosition( self:GetLeft() + oldIconPosition - newIconPosition , 
	                  self:GetTop() + oldLabelPosition - newLabelPosition );
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question for plugin users: Digital_Utopia Chit Chat 6 10-26-2010 02:48 AM
Better plugin management Olenn LotRO Wish List (L) 6 10-21-2010 12:09 AM
Plugin Manager 0.2 help jingo386 Script & Skin Managers 1 09-20-2010 11:33 PM
Plugin Manager Sirak Script & Skin Managers 8 09-12-2010 04:35 PM
I wrote a Lua plugin, now what? scrappy General Authoring Discussion (L) 3 09-08-2010 10:06 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 AM.


Our Network
EQInterface | EQ2Interface | Minion | WoWInterface | ESOUI | LoTROInterface | MMOUI | Swtorui