lotrointerface.com
Search Downloads

Go Back   LoTROInterface > LotRO > Developer Discussions > Graphics modification help (L)

Unread 02-15-2007, 08:29 AM
The Undefeated

Question TGA Specifications

Hi !

First of all, gratz for this site. As a webmaster I know how diffucult is to create and maintain such web communities

My very first post on this forum will be about the TGAs...

I'm working on Photoshop and I can't make any of my tga to work.
I can work with jpeg with some items of the interface but some will need transparency...

Is there a special way to save .tga ?

Thanks for your help

PS : Here is an extract of what I've done so far

Unread 02-15-2007, 10:52 AM
Credendo Vides
Premium Member
LOTROInterface Admin
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces

I haven't actually started working with LotRO's interface at all, so take what I say here with a grain of salt.

Most games for which I've done any interface art/run a site and looked at others' work has required that:

a) your .tga file be a power of two (not multiple, power). 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, 64, 128, 256, 512. The image within the file can be whatever size, but the file itself must be power of two;

b) you also need to remember to save your alpha channel (transparency), so it has to be saved as a 32 bit not a 24 bit. RGB+alpha.

As I said, I don't know that for sure for LotRO, but it has applied for every other game I've seen so far.

What you've got so far looks good.

Co-Founder & Admin: MMOUI
FaceBook Profile, Page, Group
Unread 02-16-2007, 09:12 AM
The Undefeated

Ok, thanks for the help...

I've tried to save my files as .tga 32 bits and it works... BUT... (there's always one)... I can't select the alpha channel when I save it under Photoshop CS... I'm currently looking for a software that could handle tga's transparencies easilly...
Unread 02-16-2007, 09:49 AM
Credendo Vides
Premium Member
LOTROInterface Admin

PS is what I use, it (normally) handles alpha channels beautifully.