lotrointerface.com
Search Downloads


Go Back   LoTROInterface > LotRO > Developer Discussions > Lua Programming Help (L)

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 12-18-2013, 08:08 AM
Mandraval Mandraval is offline
The Wary
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 2
Loading data issues

Perhaps someone can explain to me, what I am doing wrong...

Loading data worked right fine for some time, but since the amount of data got quite huge, I tried to split these data to various files on disc.
Loading works quite fine, except it takes ages (and sometimes leads to server-disconnects for too long loading time).

So I tried to split the loading between startup and runtime.
If I load all data at startup, there is no difference, but if I try to load some data during runtime, the load routine finishes, with no data returned.

Code:
dataload=VindarPatch.PatchDataLoad(Turbine.DataScope.Server,"filename",load_done)
If this code is executed during load, dataload contains the requested data.

Perhaps I'm getting this wrong, but I think, 'load_done' should be called when the data was loaded, and if I try to access the data in the function load_done, it is always >nil<
Code:
function load_done()
	if(dataload~=nil) then
dataload should be known in both functions

Any help on getting the data loaded?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 12-18-2013, 08:33 AM
Garan's Avatar
Garan Garan is offline
The Undying
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 340
The underlying Turbine.PluginData.Load functions differently when the plugin is loading and during runtime. When the plugin loads, the data is returned as the result of the function. During runtime, however, the data is not made available immediately so the return value of the function is simply "nil". Instead, the data is passed to the callback function as the first parameter of the callback. For the callback, you should be using something like:
Code:
function load_done(dataload)
-- when the function is called, dataload now has the table of data that is returned
 
end
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 12-18-2013, 07:18 PM
Mandraval Mandraval is offline
The Wary
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 2
Many thanks, it works...

I got it that this function behaves differently, but I could not figure out, how I can make use of that.

You made my day, Garan.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Was data.lotro.com updated? magill Interface Help (L) 2 03-20-2013 10:10 PM
Saving quickslot data to table Marll Lua Programming Help (L) 8 01-07-2011 02:09 PM
Issues with loading plugin goldbishop Lua Programming Help (L) 12 12-01-2010 10:33 PM
Interface into game data Aran Interface Help (D) 1 11-11-2010 12:38 AM
Frosty - Client Side Layout Data, Please! Erythor LotRO Wish List (L) 10 01-31-2009 06:07 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 AM.


Our Network
EQInterface | EQ2Interface | Minion | WoWInterface | ESOUI | LoTROInterface | MMOUI | Swtorui