Quantcast Just cant figure out how to use H1cks new editor! Help! heh. - LoTROInterface
VGInterface.com
Search Downloads


Go Back   LoTROInterface > LotRO > General Discussion & Support > Interface Help (L)

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 07-23-2007, 11:28 AM
AmbushMartyr's Avatar
AmbushMartyr AmbushMartyr is offline
The Indomitable
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 9
Just cant figure out how to use H1cks new editor! Help! heh.

Hey everyone! Long time no see! Been busy with LOTRO and havent done much lately on trying to make custom UIs. I just glanced over a few news ones and Im impressed to say the least!!! Its like now you can really move a lot of stuff around,resize and make the UI really compact!

But I have a problem! Oh Noez Problemz! I cant understand how to use the new editor H1cks made and or anything really,heh.

I know how to make a template for main bar and redesign the the skin, but when it comes to sizes,moving certain things around, im lost! Has anyone made a comprehensive tutorial on how to do step by step custom UI with or without H1cks new editor? Thanks in advance!

PS I thought someone here was going to make a complete templates package, but that may have fell through, thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 07-23-2007, 02:15 PM
Kuvasie's Avatar
Kuvasie Kuvasie is offline
Super Moderator
Premium Member
LOTROInterface Super Mod
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmbushMartyr
.....

PS I thought someone here was going to make a complete templates package, but that may have fell through, thanks again.
Not sure about the utility, but you can find the UI Art package here. It contains the all the art pieces we can access at this time.

Kuv
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 07-23-2007, 03:08 PM
Kailvine's Avatar
Kailvine Kailvine is offline
The Undying
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 20
I'm having problems as well.. I get this...

SkinDefinition(load): Cound not process elements of a panel. Try checking the syntax of the xml file.

I have checked the xml compared it to others and it looks fine... I even get this one some of the other UI's I've downloaded to try.

Any help please?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread 07-24-2007, 08:21 AM
D.H1cks's Avatar
D.H1cks D.H1cks is offline
The Undying
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 162
Frosty posted this over on the LOTRO forums:

http://forums.lotro.com/showthread.php?t=65966

Take a look and hopefully that will help explain how it all works.

Kailvine,

Let me know a specific skin that is giving that error and I will take a look to see what is causing the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Unread 07-24-2007, 10:17 AM
Kailvine's Avatar
Kailvine Kailvine is offline
The Undying
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 20
Nope still looked and looked at it and it looks correct this is my own version I have based on Budvar 1.1 and that does not work.

the xml is copied as below

<PanelFile ID="toolbar">
<Element ID="ToolbarField" X="727" Y="929" Width="516" Height="95" Detach="1">

<Element ID="ToolbarFieldMain" X="0" Y="0" Width="516" Height="90"></Element>

<Element ID="LevelMeter" X="87" Y="70" Width="412" Height="30">
<Element ID="LevelMeterFill" X="5" Y="12" Width="412" Height="6">
<Element ID="LevelMeter_BonusMeter" X="0" Y="0" Width="412" Height="6"></Element>
</Element>
<Element ID="ToolbarButton_LevelUpXP_TutorialHighlight" X="0" Y="21" Width="416" Height="10"></Element>
<Element ID="ToolbarButton_Experience_TutorialHighlight" X="0" Y="10" Width="416" Height="10"></Element>
<Element ID="LevelMeterText" X="3" Y="10" Width="412" Height="10"></Element>
</Element>

<Element ID="AutoAttackIndicatorButton" X="15" Y="29" Width="63" Height="63"></Element>
<Element ID="ViolentModeIndicator" X="15" Y="29" Width="63" Height="63"></Element>
<Element ID="ToolbarButton_AutoAttack_TutorialHighlight" X="15" Y="18" Width="76" Height="76"></Element>
<Element ID="GamePlay_FervorPipDisplay" X="1" Y="12" Width="90" Height="42"></Element>
<Element ID="GamePlay_AimPipDisplay" X="1" Y="12" Width="90" Height="42"></Element>

<Element ID="ToolBarButton_MainMenu" X="89" Y="54" Width="34" Height="24"></Element>
<Element ID="ToolbarButton_Crafting" X="124" Y="54" Width="34" Height="24"></Element>
<Element ID="ToolbarButton_Social" X="159" Y="54" Width="34" Height="24"></Element>
<Element ID="ToolbarButton_Accomplishment" X="194" Y="54" Width="34" Height="24"></Element>
<Element ID="ToolBarButton_Quest" X="229" Y="54" Width="34" Height="24"></Element>
<Element ID="ToolbarButton_Journal" X="264" Y="54" Width="34" Height="24"></Element>

<Element ID="ToolBarButton_Inventory" X="474" Y="54" Width="34" Height="24"></Element>
<Element ID="ToolBarButton_Inventory2" X="439" Y="54" Width="34" Height="24"></Element>
<Element ID="ToolBarButton_Inventory3" X="404" Y="54" Width="34" Height="24"></Element>
<Element ID="ToolBarButton_Inventory4" X="369" Y="54" Width="34" Height="24"></Element>
<Element ID="ToolbarButton_Inventory5" X="334" Y="54" Width="34" Height="24"></Element>

<Element ID="Toolbar_Quickslot" X="87" Y="16" Width="420" Height="35"></Element>
</Element>
</PanelFile>

I hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Unread 07-24-2007, 01:06 PM
Aalwein's Avatar
Aalwein Aalwein is offline
GM, Scarlet Underground
Premium Member
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 163
Did you adjust the line:

<Element ID="ToolbarField" X="727" Y="929" Width="516" Height="95" Detach="1">

to your specific screen resolution per the instructions:

Quote:
Firstly figure out what resolution you're running the game in (easily obtained by going into options > graphics. E.g. 1024x768, 1280x1024, etc.)

Now you'll need to replace the numbers that are highlighted in red.
(It may seem daunting, but don't worry it's not so bad)

For X= Take the width of your resolution and divide the number by 2 then subtract 300 from the result, replace this number with the current one.
(e.g. 1280 / 2 = 640, 640 - 300 = 340)

For Y= Take the Height of your resolution and subtract 145 from it, and replace this number with the current one.
(e.g. 1024 - 145 = 879)

Now, make sure you save it by selecting File > Save. Ensure that you do this, and don't select "Save As" Otherwise you may save it as something other than a .xml file (Meaning the skin just won't work)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Unread 07-24-2007, 01:56 PM
Kailvine's Avatar
Kailvine Kailvine is offline
The Undying
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 20
Yes I have the screen in 1280 x 1024 so the toolbar is over to the right hand side with enough room for a quick bar to fit in.

I will try moving the bar though, but I doubt it will do any good as I've been using this UI in game for over a month now.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Unread 07-24-2007, 02:01 PM
Kailvine's Avatar
Kailvine Kailvine is offline
The Undying
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 20
Still not working at all. Same problems.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Unread 07-24-2007, 03:27 PM
D.H1cks's Avatar
D.H1cks D.H1cks is offline
The Undying
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 162
For this line:

<Element ID="ToolBarButton_Inventory" X="474" Y="54" Width="34" Height="24"></Element>

Change ToolBarButton_Inventory to ToolbarButton_Inventory. I know, my code does not like it when the ID is not EXACTLY correct. The game must be better at handling that minor detail.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Unread 07-24-2007, 04:51 PM
Kailvine's Avatar
Kailvine Kailvine is offline
The Undying
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 20
I have tried to turn ToolBarButton_Inventory to ToolbarButton_Inventory = did not work.

Tried all to be Toolbar<the rest of it>, and all to be ToolBar<the rest of it> and even commented out every line one by one AND all in order.. still not working at all. Still same message, unless I comment out too much then it says it can not read the xml.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 PM.


Our Network
EQInterface | EQ2Interface | Minion | WoWInterface | VGInterface | LoTROInterface | MMOInterface | Swtorui